Mango Lime Sorbet

Last weekend I got a few lbs of organic mangoes… hmm… Mango is one of my the favorite fruits! I can think of many ways of using them (beside just eating them) but I wanted to make something special… after thinking… and thinking a little more, I decided to convert these beauties in Sorbet…

After a little research, I found out that sorbet can be made with dairy and depending of the % of the dairy component it will have different technical names:

  • Sherbet (also spelled) sherbert — is a frozen fruit and dairy product with 1 percent to 3 percent milk fat from milk or cream. More than 3 percent of dairy is generally labeled as ice cream and less than 1 percent is referred to as water ice.
  • Sorbet is generally described as a fruit-based frozen dessert with little to no dairy.

To make the best sorbet or fruit based dessert, most of the time the fruit needs to be ripe as its sweetest point… mangoes can be a bit unpleasant if green but get juicy and sweet as honey if well ripped! So I waited (patiently) for my mangoes to ripe until soft to the touch with a few darkened spots… just right!

So I grabbed my mangoes, a few limes. sugar and salt and rolled up my sleeves…

DSCN4922DSCN4988

Ingredients:

  • 5 lbs (2,250 kg) of mangoes well ripped (Kent)
  • 4 limes for juice and zest
  • 1/2 lb (250 g) of sugar
  • a pinch of salt

Step-by-step:

Wash well the mangoes and with a sharp knife peel and cube the mangoes.

Add the zest and the juice of the limes to the mangoes and puree the mix with a blender until smooth I personally use and prefer my stick blender because it makes a smoother puree.

Taste the puree to see if you need to add more sugar (depending on the sweetness of the fruit). And do not forget to add the salt!

If you have an ice cream maker you can use it after cooling down the mix using the manufacturer instructions – I have the ice cream adapter for my KitckenAid mixer and I mixed the sorbet for 20 minute at the speed # 2 – transfer to the freezer container.

If you do not have an ice cream maker you can add the mangoes and lime mix directly to the storage container.

Freeze the sorbet for a few hours (4 to 5 hours) before serving but the best would be to freeze it overnight. Before serving, let the sorbet sit at room temperature for 5 to 10 minutes. This will allow you to scope the sorbet more easily.

Enjoy!

Sources:
Are Sorbet, Sherbet, and Sherbert the Same Thing?
http://www.marthastewart.com/978345/mango-lime-sorbet
 
Leave a Reply

