Mini Vanilla Cupcakes with Almond Buttercream Frosting

I found a jar of almond butter left by my latest visitors on my refrigerator…I am still training my taste buds to like alternative types of butter… I love Apple butter… Almond butter is growing on me… but ,for example, Peanut butter is a lost cause (so I think) to eat as it… so I needed some ideas in how to use this almond butter… My little Princess wanted cupcakes… so we settled for Mini Vanilla Cupcakes. To make the cupcakes a little healthy, I partially replaced some butter for almond butter (Great ideas I thought). The combination of almond and vanilla is just great! Adds a little of nuttiness to the batter… I happy with the end result! and the kids liked it… thumbs up! For the frosting I initially made Lime Buttercream Frosting but I also made a small batch with almond butter… as a quick experiment… adding confectioner sugar to the almond butter as requested for the basic buttercream frosting… but resulted in an odd paste but I added cream cheese (what I add available) and it was perfect! the frosting was soft (but able to hold itself) and full of flavor without the heavy greasy flavor of regular butter. Add a nice sprinkle of salt and you have a healthier cupcake! DSCN5344 DSCN5347

Mini Vanilla Cupcake makes 16 cupcakes

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup half-half
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 3 tablespoons of almond butter
  • 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 large egg

Almond Buttercream Frosting

  • 4 tablespoons of butter
  • 4 oz of soft cream cheese
  • 1 tablespoon of agave sweeter
  • 6 to 8 tablespoons of confectioners sugar

Pre-heat the oven to 325 F and lined 2 mini muffins pans with mini cupcakes liners. Mix the dry ingredients in a bowl (it makes it better if you pass it through a fine mesh strainer) and set aside. Mix both butters until creamy and add the sugar and mix again. Add the half and half and egg together mixing very well. Transfer 1 full tablespoon of batter into each tin. I used a teaspoons to scoop the batter from the tablespoon into the cupcake tin. Bake until golden for 8 to 10 minutes (do not forget to do the toothpick test). Let the cupcakes cold down completely before frosting. Combine all the ingredients very well. Adjust for sweetness if needed. Once the cupcakes are cold, add the frosting prepared (as much as you wish) and sprinkle some sea salt. Enjoy! Sources http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Mini-Vanilla-Cupcakes-109045

Leave a Reply

